Ugly Duckling Presse

Deformation Zone: On Translation
Deformation Zone: On Translation

Joyelle McSweeney & Johannes Goransson

| $12.00 $10.00

Theoretically minded and practice oriented, McSweeney and Göransson's interests range outside the literary mainstream and even the "experimental" literary mainstream, incorporating cutting-edge media theory, the aesthetics of abjection, and theories of disability as they apply to translation. Deformation Zone: On Translation comprises two essays, one by each author, exploring their ideas.

About the Author

Joyelle McSweeney

Joyelle McSweeney is the author of the hybrid novels Flet (Fence, 2008) and Nylund the Sarcographer (Tarpaulin Sky Press, 2007) as well as the poetry volumes The Commandrine and Other Poems (Fence 2004) and The Red Bird, which was chosen by Allen Grossman to inaugurate the Fence Modern Poets Series in 2001. Her prose, poetry, and translations have appeared or are forthcoming in many publications, including the anthologies My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales (Penguin 2010) and Legitimate Dangers: American Poets of the New Century (Sarabande 2006). McSweeney's poetic essays, on such topics as the Necropastoral and the Body Possessed by Media, have appeared or are forthcoming in chapbook and pamphlet form from Spork Press and Ugly Duckling Presse, and numerous other print venues. She is an Associate Professor in the Creative Writing Program at the University of Notre Dame. A new volume of poetry and plays is forthcoming from Fence in Spring 2012.

Johannes Goransson

Johannes Göransson is the co-editor of Action Books and the online quarterly Action, Yes. In 2005, Action Books published Remainland: Selected Poems of Aase Berg, which he translated from Swedish. Goransson was a guest editor of the Winter 2006 special Swedish issue of the journal Typo, which featured substantial selections of work by major Swedish-language Modernists and contemporary poets. For Ugly Duckling Presse he has translated Ideals Clearance by Henry Parland (2007) and Transfer Fat by Aase Berg (2012).